Close this search box.

Essential 8 (E8) vs SOC 2

Comparing the ASD E8 vs AICPA SOC 2

The Essential 8 vs SOC 2

Download the comparison guide

What is the Essential 8?

Key E8 Insights:
The Australian Government has developed the Essential 8 to help local organisations like yours safeguard against cyber attacks. This initiative outlines eight vital strategies to boost your cybersecurity and shield your business from potential threats.
These strategies include:
  • Keeping your applications and operating systems up-to-date with the latest patches
  • Using application whitelisting to only allow trusted programs to run
  • Limiting administrative access to authorised personnel only
  • Implementing multi-factor authentication for added security
  • Hardening your systems to prevent exploitation of vulnerabilities
  • Encrypting sensitive data to keep it secure
  • Filtering traffic to block suspicious activity
  • Monitoring and logging to detect potential threats
By implementing these Essential 8 strategies, you’ll significantly reduce the risk of a successful cyber attack and protect your business’s valuable data and systems.

What is SOC 2?

SOC 2 is a rigorous auditing process that helps organisations like yours ensure the security, availability, integrity, confidentiality, and privacy of your customers’ sensitive information. Developed by the American Institute of Certified Public Accountants (AICPA), SOC 2 is built on the Trust Services Principles and Criteria.
This widely recognised auditing standard allows you to showcase your dedication to protecting customer data. An independent auditor will assess the effectiveness of your controls, providing assurance that you have the necessary safeguards in place.
By achieving SOC 2 compliance, you can demonstrate your commitment to:
  • Securely storing and managing customer data
  • Ensuring data availability and accessibility
  • Maintaining data integrity and accuracy
  • Upholding data confidentiality and privacy
SOC 2 is the industry standard for cloud service providers, but any organisation that handles customer data can benefit from this audit process.

What are the Similarities and Differences of E8 & SOC 2?

What's similar?

How similar are both E8 and SOC 2?

What's Different

Where are the differences between E8 and SOC 2?